8123 Tour: The Maine, A Rocket to the Moon, This Century and Brighten

537212_10151519460240798_859719651_n

It was honestly one of the best days of my life. It all began last summer when I was first introduced to The Maine by a couple of friends in a band that played the same genre of music. At first, I wasn’t too sure that I would be into the entire rock alternative scene, but I honestly loved it. I started out listening to their older tunes, and their music was strangely addictive. From their witty lyrics to the amazing guitar riffs, I couldn’t stop listening to them. Along with their music, I can’t ignore the fact that The Maine is undeniably good-looking. At first I didn’t pay much attention to how they looked, but more on their music. Now, I can’t watch one of their music videos without wanting to marry each and every one of them. Sounds like I’m exaggerating, but I’m not.

Then just this year when I was aimlessly surfing the internet, I ran across a song titled “Happy” and I loved it. It was genuine, raw, carefree and everything a song should be. When I figured out that it was the Maine, I knew that they would find some way to crawl back into my life and rape my entire iTunes. Honestly, I shouldn’t be surprised about their accomplishments as a band. They are talented, funny, sweet, and everything I could ask for and so much more (you’d get that if you were a maniac). Now that they’ve debuted their new album Forever Halloween, the world is a better place. Jk, but seriously, it’s one hell of a good album.

After loving the CD, I honestly couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see them in concert! I asked a friend to go with me and sadly we sort of loafted on purchasing tickets (oopsie!), and when it was too late… well it was too late. I have no idea why I waited so long, but I did! So my friend and I searched the Kijiji instead. BLESS THE UNIVERSE, we found tickets for $20/each. The tickets seemed a little sketchy, but honestly I was dying for tickets and would do anything for one. I sent my friend to meet up with him, and the tickets were authentic! From that point on, the rest was history.

On June 13, my friend and I went and lined up approximately 7 hours before the concert at 11. Then the waiting game began! Hours dragged by, then we saw the tour bus. The tour bus basically stopped in the middle of the street which led to a huge traffic jam because there were only two lanes.  It was sort of sad to see the poor cars having to figure out a route towards the coming traffic. It was only 15-30 minutes that the Maine had arrived at the venue, and they’ve already caused so much chaos. While that was all happening, Pat was being a little tease and jumped out of the bus and ran across the street. Girls screamed, of course and then he ran back inside.

Fotor07042227

Eventually the traffic cleared up after the tour bus parked into their unloading area. Next thing I knew, I hear screams and John is out taking pictures with the fans. Honestly, that’s when my chin dropped straight to the concrete. My friend and I ran straight over, and we took photos. We said a casual hi, and we snapped a picture. Just reminiscing about it gives me goosebumps. Cause although he doesn’t remember me, I definitely do. Just the fact he was right beside me, butterflies still flutter in my stomach. It might sound crazy, but it meant the world to me. He’s such an inspiration, talent and well let’s not forget good-looking. But it wasn’t how I imagined it to be, but oh well. But hey, the good news doesn’t stop there! After the pictures were taken, and they came back from their acoustic signing, I hear all the girls murmuring as I also see John and Kennedy casually walking to get food. Not that I’m saying Toronto isn’t a safe city, but if I saw these guys walking down the street as casually as they were, I’d jump them.

As more time flew by, spending it with people who like the same music as you makes the time a whole lot easier to pass. Along with that, I was introduced to a new band called “Jocelyn”. I’m not really sure what impulsed me to buy their CD at the end of concert, but I couldn’t say no to his pretty face. Anyways, their band walked around speaking to all of us, giving us a little listen to their new EP which was actually pretty good. That took up a huge chunk of time, of waiting but I couldn’t help but want to get the waiting done with.

As soon as it was 5:30, the fun began and the concert was slowly approaching. As much friends as I made, it all changed when we all wanted one thing: front row tickets. And the tickets were general admission, which meant everybody for themselves. As much as I hate to say it, girls will be girls and we shove, scratch, push. Although it seems a little unlady like, these boys were worth it. We cheered every time someone walked on stage, and it was pretty hilarious. Soon, the opening act came out and the sweaty fun began with Brighten!

20130705-145619.jpg

Brighten was the first to perform, and started the show undoubtedly memorable. Brighten is a pop rock band from Chico, California consisting of the brothers Justin Richards (lead vocals, guitar) and Jimmy Richards (drums) as well Alex Draper (backing vocals, bass). Unfortunately, I didn’t get many photos of them, and when I did they were mostly blurry, but I could still remember their flawless performance. Although I came to see the Maine attraction (sorry bad pun), I definitely became a fan of Brighten as well as the others through this process. Now my favorite song from Brighten is I’ll Be There from their album Peace and Quiet.

20130705-145611.jpg

Next, This Century came on. This Century is a pop rock band from Phoenix, Arizona. It consists of members Joel Kanitz, Ryan Gose, Sean Silverman and Alex Silverman. At first, my feelings for this band were neutral, but now I have a really bad crush on them. Their music is amazing, and Joel’s voice is perfection.  When they started performing, I knew I heard them before because I could sing along to a couple of their songs. As they played a couple of their songs, they honestly hyped up the crowd so much. Joel was so close, and I touched him. As creepy as that sounds, I touched his abs and I can’t get over it (don’t judge me).

20130705-145603.jpg

This is Joel and he’s such a hunk.

20130705-145556.jpg

After This Cenutury, came A Rocket to the Moon (also known as ARTTM). ARTTM is a rock band formed in Braintree, Massachusetts and consists of Nick Santino (lead vocals, rhythm guitarist), Justin Richards *also of Brighten (guitar, backup vocals), Eric Halvorsen (bass, backup vocals) and Andrew Cook (drums). I couldn’t be more excited to see them in concert! I’ve always been a fan of theirs, but in a low-key kind of way. There were a couple of songs I were crazy about, and stayed crazy about even till now. I was pretty selective, but I have grown into their music a lot more now. Just because they were amazing in concert, and I couldn’t have asked for more. They played like we used to, which has been a huge favorite of mine 3 years ago. So, I am sad to say that ARTTM is breaking up… at least I saw them perform for the last time in Toronto. What a shame that they’re breaking up.

20130705-145551.jpg

This is Eric Halvorsen and Justin Richards to beautifully handsome men.

20130704-021439.jpg

Then finally… the headliners! The Maine came into a pitch black room, and the rest was too good, you had to be there to know how it felt. It was sweaty, disgusting, revolting and yet I loved every second of it. There are no words to describe how amazing The Maine was. So here are some pictures to tell you 1/100 of the story.

20130704-021447.jpg

20130705-021439.jpg

20130705-021454.jpg

20130705-021500.jpg

20130705-021448.jpg

20130705-021513.jpg

This is Willow dressed up as Garrett whipping his hair back and forth.

20130705-021507.jpg

20130705-021519.jpg

20130704-021429.jpg

& At the end of the show, they all got on stage and rocked out.

If you want to check them out (you should!) here are their links:

http://wearethemaine.net/

http://www.wearejocelyn.com/

https://myspace.com/wearebrighten

http://www.arockettothemoon.net/

http://www.thiscenturyband.com/

119066DB46177208729A51D24E00D84D

6 thoughts on “8123 Tour: The Maine, A Rocket to the Moon, This Century and Brighten

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. One fantastic thing about The Maine is that they all go out of their way to be with their fans, take photos, sign autographs and chat. In my humble opinion, THAT’s the essence of rock and roll. So many artists have lost sight of that. So refreshing.

    Feel free to check out my other sites by stabbing me in the face with your cursor arrow. 🙂

    • No problem! I appreciate it when bands do that too, it’s a time for the bands to know their fans, and for the fans to get their dream. It’s a win win situation.

Leave a Reply

