The Heist Tour: Macklemore and Ryan Lewis / OOTN

After my post concert depression, I’ve seriously wanted to get back into this whole concert vibe! Just my luck, my friend bought tickets to see Macklemore and Ryan Lewis in concert! So this officially makes this summer, the best summer ever. Although this is not usually the genre of music I listen to, I really do appreciate music that has a lot of real in it. When I listen to his music whole heartedly, it feels very raw. I was first introduced to Macklemore by the infamous “Thrift Shop” song. I’m sad to say, I jumped on the bandwagon and started listening to him. Then later I had “Same Love” playing repeatedly on my iPhone and I couldn’t get it out of my head. I always thought the song was sad, but the more I listen to it, it’s very empowering. Although I am straight and christian, there’s something about this song that I can relate to. I think it’s just something that tells you to be yourself, and that’s okay, or at least enough. When I heard it during an IAPS documentary trip about a 14-year-old boy named, Larry King who was murdered by a classmate because he was gay and I couldn’t hold back the tears. The more and more I listen to him, the more inspired I feel.

So on August 2, I saw Macklemore and Ryan Lewis at Echo Beach. When we got there at 7:30, the place was decently packed, but the concert did start at 8. Soon the place was quite intimate, and then became too close for comfort. The sad part is, we weren’t even close up to the stage, and was rather far. Also being the 5’3 stump I am, super tall boys were all I saw that night. Occasionally I had glimpses of them, but I was basically watching through the screens of iPhones that were taking pictures or recording. But I did take some pictures, but this concert I tried to enjoy myself more than capture the moment.

Overall it was a different environment, and feel to the concert. I usually dedicate my entire day to the concert and line up or whatever, but I didn’t this time, and it kinda sucks. I wish I went earlier, cause I saw zip. As much as Macklemore and Ryan did an amazing job the funniest part of the night was having to experience a couple constantly making out behind me, meeting some new friends and spending the night with my friend’s hilarious mom and aunt. Anyways, here are some pictures of my night!

Fotor0806134854

Fotor0806221942

Fotor080614123

Fotor0806134916

Fotor0806135126

Fotor0806222436

IMG_7921

Fotor0806141444 Fotor0806141453

Necklace: Forever 21

Cropped Long Sleeve: Forever 21

Skirt: Brandy Melville

Studded Flats: Ardene

Assorted Rings: Aldo/Forever 21

Nails: Sally Hansen (420: Pacific Blue)

Fotor0806141627 Fotor0806141538

4 thoughts on “The Heist Tour: Macklemore and Ryan Lewis / OOTN

Leave a Reply

